Make a donation

OUR STORY

Fernand Pascoal, President of Dalisa Gourmet Workshop, has been volunteering for several years in his community. From there came the idea of creating Fonds Belmira Jaime, as an opportunity to continue volunteering but in a new way with a bigger impact!

Fernand faced challenges in his childhood since his parents—Belmira and Jaime were immigrants who came to Quebec in the early 1950s—couldn’t finance Fernand’s dreams, despite all the love they had for him. As a child, he was able to transform these obstacles into lessons, and the challenges he encountered have taught him to persevere. 

Fonds Belmira Jaime’s mission is now to help children who don’t have access to all the resources they need to develop their full physical, intellectual and human potential.

It also supports them by giving them space to flourish in their school and extracurricular environment, ensuring that these children will positively affect tomorrow’s society thanks to the support they’ve received.

Since it was founded in the spring of 2019, Fonds Belmira Jaime (named after Fernand’s parents) has donated over $230,000 to organizations supporting children’s wellbeing.

Mission

To provide children and young adults with equal opportunities for growth and success to help them build a better future.

VISION

The Fonds Belmira Jaime will be recognized as a valuable force and ally in providing financial support to community organizations working in various sectors.

VALUES

Mutual Aid
Convinced that mutual aid remains the most important value for our society to evolve, the FBJ is committed to having a positive impact on the lives of children, young adults and their families.

Respect
Treat everyone with respect (workers, recipient organizations, business partners and sponsors).

Fairness
In the interest of fairness and transparency, the Board of Directors of the FBJ has set up a Donations Committee and has adopted a set of criteria for the allocation of donations.

Our team

Fernand Pascoal

Fernand Pascoal, Chair of the Board of Fonds Belmira Jaime, is a father and now grandfather who firmly believes that every child should start from the same place in life so that they all have an equal opportunity to achieve their dreams. For him, a promising day begins with a good breakfast. Because of that, getting involved with the Breakfast Club of Canada came naturally. He has been able to see the direct impact of the fundraisers he and his team organize while spending his mornings distributing meals in schools. Now, he wants to lead the Fonds in organizing major fundraising events for young children to give them the opportunity to develop their natural skills and support their development.

Alexandra Pascoal

Alexandra Pascoal was born to a loving family and has always felt cherished.  She’s thankful for the life she leads and has been volunteering for many years with children, whether it’s distributing Christmas baskets (her favourite activity) or organizing the Lobster Gala every year. As a founding member of the Fonds Belmira Jaime and as a mother to a profoundly deaf child, she understands the challenges that some families face daily. Alexandra’s energy, enthusiasm and perseverance colour each of the events she organizes, and these self-same qualities are appreciated by the people who work with her year after year.

Jenny Contant

As a privileged person, Jenny is committed to giving back to others and to instilling in her own children the values of generosity and self-sacrifice. As a tax lawyer and a Fonds Belmira Jaime board member, she has also long supported a number of initiatives helping underprivileged children and seniors living in isolation. The team’s generosity and energy are what made her want to join the Board of Directors. She soon saw that the team’s big heart and commitment shined through in all of their activities. If her help leads to more children dreaming bigger, she’ll be proud to have had a hand in it.

Andréanne Mercier

As someone who’s very dedicated and hands-on both at work and in her personal life, this cheerful mother hopes to encourage children to give their best in life. Andréanne used to volunteer for adaptive sports, and she joined Fonds Belmira Jaime to help with various fundraising activities. She was impressed by the team’s dedication and the positive response from partners and retailers, becoming even prouder of what the team was doing. For her, each child is a precious treasure who’s sparkle shouldn’t be dulled by either hunger or financial burden. She knows that her involvement is helping to give children the hope that one day they will be able to live out their daydreams.

Roseline Ménard

Roseline Ménard is a grandmother and retired notary. She has often felt the call to help when she saw children suffering and experiencing injustices. Since she is unable to completely change our society to be more egalitarian and safer by herself, she decided to choose organizations whose mission means a lot to her and that make a real difference in the lives of their beneficiaries. Roseline especially appreciates the Fonds Belmira Jaime team’s energy, local involvement and dedication, and the fact that they share two values she holds dear: honesty and loyalty.

Antoine Goulet

Antoine Goulet is treasurer and member of the board and has been involved with Fonds Belmira Jaime since the very beginning, inspired by his work with orphan organizations in the region. He became aware as he was handing out school breakfasts of how important and meaningful every small and seemingly insignificant gesture is for people in need. His expertise in corporate finance helps him when collecting donations to minimize expenses, raise funds and then give as much as possible back to organizations that need it. According to him, a just society is a society where people help each other. To make this possible one day, Antoine has chosen to help the creators of tomorrow’s world—today’s children.

Judith Dorais

Judith Dorais became aware of the child welfare cause when she was young—her parents could have benefited from the Fonds Belmira Jaime if it had existed. She is a notary, blessed by life, and a mother to healthy children. Judith has volunteered with children in the community on several occasions. In her view, children should be treated equitably as early as possible so that they can develop with no barriers or hindrance to being themselves. Judith has been involved with the foundation from the very beginning. She sees a bright future for this sincere and generous organization in line with her two fundamental values: respect and honesty.

Victoria Pascoal

Victoria Pascoal was fortunate to grow up in a devoted family that instilled in her values that are still dear to her today: generosity, humility and empathy. She feels extremely privileged in her life to have been so well supported and to have had the resources she needed to develop. That’s why she wants to give the same opportunity to those who don’t have it. Victoria has been involved in Fonds Belmira Jaime events in the past, but she hopes being a member of the board will help her better serve the cause. In her view, every child should be able to get what they need for their well-being and development.

Support the Fonds Belmira Jaime,

Promote children’s development and quality of life

Make a donation

Visit of FBJ members to the Breakfast Club of Canada – Winter 2019

Great Dalisa Oyster Feast – 2021

Grand Festin d’huîtres Dalisa – 2021

Lobsters Gala Dalisa – Spring 2019

Check remittance to L’étoile pédiatrie sociale du Haut-Richelieu – 2021

Je veux faire un don

NOTRE HISTOIRE

Président de Dalisa L’atelier gourmand, Fernand Pascoal s’implique depuis de nombreuses années au sein de la communauté. C’est ce qui lui a donné l’idée de créer le Fonds Belmira Jaime afin de s’impliquer encore davantage et d’une nouvelle manière!  

Au cours de son enfance, Fernand a dû surmonter plusieurs défis. Ses parents, Belmira et Jaime, qui ont immigré au Québec au début des années 1950, n’avaient pas les moyens financiers d’aider Fernand à réaliser ses rêves, malgré tout l’amour qu’ils avaient pour lui. Enfant, il a su transformer ces différents obstacles en apprentissage, et les difficultés rencontrées lui ont appris la persévérance! 

Le Fonds Belmira Jaime est destiné aux enfants qui ne peuvent pas bénéficier de toutes les ressources nécessaires pour exploiter leur plein potentiel physique, intellectuel et humain.

Il vise aussi à les encourager en permettant leur épanouissement dans leur milieu scolaire et parascolaire et, à long terme, à faire profiter la société de demain de l’appui donné aux enfants d’aujourd’hui!

Depuis sa création au printemps 2019, le Fonds Belmira Jaime (dont le nom rend hommage aux prénoms des parents de Fernand) a permis de remettre plus de 230 000 $ à différents organismes œuvrant pour le bien-être des enfants.

Mission

Offrir aux enfants et jeunes adultes des chances égales d’épanouissement et de réussite dans la vie afin de les aider à se bâtir un avenir meilleur.

VISION

Le Fonds Belmira Jaime sera reconnu comme une force et un allié de grande valeur qui apportera un soutien financier aux organismes communautaires œuvrant dans différents secteurs.

VALEURS

Entraide
Convaincu que l’entraide reste la valeur la plus importante pour permettre à notre société de progresser, le FBJ s’engage à avoir un effet positif sur la vie des enfants, des jeunes adultes et de leurs familles.

Respect
Travailler dans le respect de tous (intervenants, organismes bénéficiaires, partenaires d’affaires et commanditaires).

Équité
Par souci d’équité et de transparence, le conseil d’administration du FBJ a mis sur pied un Comité des dons et a adopté un ensemble de critères destinés à l’attribution des dons.

Notre équipe

Fernand Pascoal

Président du Fonds Belmira Jaime, papa et désormais grand-papa, Fernand Pascoal croit fermement que tous les enfants devraient partir du même pied dans la vie afin d’avoir une chance égale de réaliser leurs rêves. Pour lui, une journée prometteuse commence par un bon déjeuner. S’impliquer auprès du Club des petits déjeuners du Québec est donc venu naturellement. Durant ces matins passés à distribuer des repas dans les écoles, il a pu mesurer l’impact direct des levées de Fonds qu’il organise avec son équipe. Il rêve maintenant d’amener le Fonds à réaliser de grands événements au bénéfice des plus petits afin de leur permettre de développer leurs aptitudes naturelles et de soutenir leur développement.

Alexandra Pascoal

Née dans une famille aimante, Alexandra Pascoal s’est toujours sentie choyée.  Très reconnaissante envers la vie, elle s’implique depuis de nombreuses années auprès des enfants que ce soit par la distribution des paniers de Noël (son activité préférée) ou par l’organisation du Gala homards chaque année. Membre fondatrice du Fonds Belmira Jaime et maman d’un enfant atteint d’une surdité profonde, elle comprend bien le quotidien rempli de défis que vivent certaines familles. Son dynamisme, son enthousiasme et sa persévérance teintent chacun des événements qu’elle organise et ces mêmes qualités sont appréciées des gens qui s’impliquent avec elle, années après années.

Jenny Contant

Privilégiée par la vie, Jenny s’implique pour redonner aux autres et pour inculquer à ses propres enfants des valeurs de générosité et de don de soi. Avocate fiscaliste, membre du C.A du Fonds Belmira Jaime, elle appuie aussi depuis longtemps plusieurs initiatives en lien avec les enfants défavorisés et les personnes âgées vivant une situation d’isolement. C’est la générosité et le dynamisme de l’équipe qui lui ont donné de goût de s’impliquer auprès du conseil d’administration. Elle a vite senti que le grand coeur de l’équipe et leur engagement coloraient chacune de leurs actions et teintaient les activités organisées. Si son aide peut permettre à un plus grand nombre d’enfants de rêver mieux, elle sera fière d’y avoir contribué.

Andréanne Mercier

Impliquée et dévouée, tant au travail que dans la vie, cette maman pétillante souhaite encourager les jeunes à donner le meilleur d’eux-mêmes dans la vie.  Bénévole en sports adaptés par le passé, elle se joint au Fonds Belmira Jaime afin d’offrir son aide aux différentes activités de financement. Impressionnée par le dévouement de l’équipe et par la réponse positive des partenaires associés et des commerçants, elle est d’autant plus fière des actions accomplies par les membres.  Pour elle, chaque enfant est un trésor précieux que ni la faim, ni les difficultés financières ne devraient empêcher de briller.  Par son implication, elle sait qu’elle contribue à leur donner espoir qu’un jour ils seront en mesure de réaliser leurs propres rêves éveillés.

Roseline Ménard

Grand-maman et notaire à la retraite, Roseline Ménard s’est souvent sentie interpellée par la souffrance et l’injustice que vivent certains enfants. Ne pouvant changer entièrement la société dans laquelle nous vivons afin de la rendre plus égalitaire et sécuritaire, elle décide de choisir des organismes dont la mission la touche et qui savent faire une différence dans la vie de ceux qui en bénéficient. Elle apprécie particulièrement le dynamisme, l’implication locale et le dévouement de l’équipe du Fonds Belmira Jaime qui véhicule deux valeurs chères à ses yeux: l’honnêteté et la loyauté.

Antoine Goulet

Trésorier et membre du C.A., Antoine Goulet s’implique depuis les tout débuts du Fonds Belmira Jaime, inspiré par ses actions au sein d’organismes orphelins de la région.  C’est entre autres lors d’une remise de déjeuners dans une école qu’il a pris conscience de l’importance de tous ces petits gestes qui paraissent anodins, mais qui sont riches de sens pour ceux qui en ont besoin. Son expertise en financement corporatif lui vient en aide lors des collectes de dons pour minimiser les dépenses, accumuler puis donner le maximum aux organismes dans le besoin.  Selon lui, une société plus égalitaire est une société qui s’entraide. Pour qu’un jour cela soit possible, Antoine a choisi d’aider les créateurs du monde de demain: les enfants d’aujourd’hui.

Judith Dorais

Judith Dorais a été sensibilisée jeune à la cause des enfants dans le besoin: ses parents étaient de ceux qui auraient pu bénéficier des avantages du Fonds Belmira Jaime s’il avait existé. Notaire, choyée par la vie, maman d’enfants en bonne santé, elle a été amenée à s’impliquer plusieurs fois auprès des jeunes de façon communautaire. Selon elle, les enfants devraient bénéficier d’un traitement égalitaire dès les premiers jours afin qu’ils puissent se développer sans restriction ou gêne quant à leur capacité d’être. Impliquée depuis les débuts de la fondation, elle entrevoit un bel avenir pour cet organisme sincère et généreux qui rejoint ses deux valeurs fondamentales de vie: le respect et l’honnêteté.

Victoria Pascoal

Victoria Pascoal a eu la chance de grandir au sein d’une famille dévouée qui lui a inculqué des valeurs qui lui sont toujours aussi chères aujourd’hui : la générosité, l’humilité et l’empathie. Elle se sent énormément privilégiée par la vie d’avoir été si bien entourée et d’avoir eu les ressources nécessaires à son épanouissement. C’est pour cette raison qu’elle désire aider à offrir cette même chance à ceux qui ne l’ont pas. Elle s’est impliquée dans les événements du FDJ par le passé, mais c’est en faisant maintenant partie de son CA qu’elle espère pouvoir mieux servir sa cause. Pour elle, tous les jeunes devraient pouvoir bénéficier des moyens essentiels à leur bien-être et à leur épanouissement. 

Soutenez le Fonds Belmira Jaime,

Favorisez l’épanouissement et la qualité de vie des enfants

Je veux faire un don

Visite des membres du FBJ dans un club des petits déjeuners – Hiver 2019

Grand Festin d’huîtres Dalisa – 2021

Grand Festin d’huîtres Dalisa – 2021

Gala Homards Dalisa – Printemps 2019

Remise de chèque à L’étoile pédiatrie sociale du Haut-Richelieu – 2021